Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Just a cup of coffee - And I'll think about you!

Shazaf Masood Sidhu

Interview with Peacemaker 360 - Young Peace-builders

Interview with Peacemaker 360 - Young Peace-builders
Interview with Peacemaker 360 - Young Peace-builders
Interview with Peacemaker 360 - Young Peace-builders
Interview with Peacemaker 360 - Young Peace-builders
Interview with Peacemaker 360 - Young Peace-builders

Activist of the day: Meet Shazaf Masood, Pakistan.

1. Could you describe the first moment when you realized you wanted to do this work?

I have often wondered what is it that makes me who I am. Shazaf, A Turkish Muslim name meaning; a sweet expensive fragrance, a natural beauty which is a rare find. I am but just the reflection of my name someone who believes in spreading the fragrance of love and positivity. 23 years old, from Karachi, Pakistan. Life has been very kind to me I believe, in my strengths and my weaknesses, in my highs and my lows all that I’ve learned has always been a great experience. I strongly believe someone who takes responsibility of everything they have done in their life are the ones who are living their lives and not merely surviving. Being a peacebuilder is not easy, not because it is the work that demands commitment but because the surrounding is not accustomed to the very phenomenon. 
In the year 2012, I knew the path I have walked is everything my conscience was looking for.
Six years back the journey of utmost zeal and enthusiasm kick-started, and the spirit is unremitting.

Empathy, love, and care towards people is something I have always looked up to since my childhood. My mom is a tough, enthusiastic and hardworking woman always used to take out time for the kids in hospitals and orphanages. she taught me that it’s not that children need nothing else but one’s time. It is not the money that counts but your affection towards them, it is not the gifts you buy for them but it is the conversation you hold and the bond you build with them. 
It was the time I realized real happiness lies in someone else’ smile and that too when you know you’re somehow the reason behind it. I am today working for many national and international forums as a volunteer.I cannot be more grateful to “The Peace Gong” for my journey started with them in the year 2012 as a child reporter And Today I’m a coordinator for ‘The Peace Gong Pakistan’. I am also part of UNOY peacebuilding Youth program,

2. Could take us through a day of your work? Where do you put most of your time and energy?

Oh well, 24 hours are less to sum-up my day but let me allow you all to peak into my daily routine.
Being a Final Year MBBS Student most of the day from my morning routine till 3 in the afternoon rotates around my patients, wards and books.
Meanwhile, as 24 hours are not sufficient for me to align all my ‘To do List’ I must utilize my breaks too and I keep myself up with my articles, emails and blog side by side. My evenings stay around my organization work which includes, planning events, youth trainings and awareness sessions. 
I make sure I try to keep my family happy and give them time equally, so nothing from my evening routine begins without a cup of coffee with my grandmother where we do have this proper ‘chit-chat’ session probably the time when I can be myself totally.
These days I’m more of multi-tasking, from my studies to my organization and assignments related to my UNOY training course. 
Touchwood - I consider myself blessed enough for my work completes me and it is yet because of my dedication towards my work that keeps me going.

3. What are your key achievements in your work?

Whatever happens, happens for a reason I believe and if the Author above has written something for us there has to have a rationale. 
One such achievement I would love to mention is how magnificently people today are considering Pakistan be it academics, volunteerism or anything. 
Like how I started my journey I would be lying if I’d say all that happened just at a gaze. Not really, the struggle, the patience, the utmost perseverance, the continuous hardwork without demanding for an immediate success and much more was there, and they say great things happen to those who wait, I surely did. 
Today, the biggest achievement of my life is I’m representing Pakistan at an international level.
We are working on building global connections with youth across the world and helping them unite to a single platform where youth can stand for their rights, where we all can work to have world free of discrimination where cast, creed, race, religion nothing matters but Humanity.

4. How does your organization promote inclusive participation of youth from diverse backgrounds?

The guiding principles of ‘The Peace gong’ emphasizes that the communication praxis should encompass not only deep understanding of each other’s culture and tradition but also do the work of emotional bridge building thereby connecting people of diverse cultures. This is essential to make the phenomenon of violence outdated and further mutual understanding. The Peace Gong, by connecting children from myriad backgrounds, tries to encourage them to do the work of emotional bridge building and thereby contributing to a culture of peace and nonviolence. 
Considering the nonviolent footprints, Peace Gong is working on forming global connections with other youth-led organizations who are working on peace and nonviolence. 
Our social media campaigns are one such way we’re promoting youth participation from diverse backgrounds.

5. What has been your hardest struggle so far, and how did you get over it?

Breaking the stereotype of Hindu-Muslim unacceptance was one of the major obstacles that came my way. As big as it sounds, the typical orthodox mentality became the greater challenge.
But if you know you are right and so are your intentions, nothing really is impossible. 
The bitterness was never amongst two nations or two religions it was rather the unsaid words, the misunderstanding, the difference of opinions and the conflicts.
The message of Peace and humanity ultimately won the battle and helped me gather the two nations together. The very first step happened in 2012 when my work was appreciated by The Peace Gong which is an Indian International platform where nationalism never existed. 
Similarly, today I being a Pakistani is getting equal acknowledgment from my people.
The warmth, the love and open-heartedness is the answer.

6. What is the biggest challenge you currently face?

While working on gathering peacebuilders across the globe, the biggest challenge we are facing is the unavailability of the resources in African countries where the two pillars of UNSCR 2250 “Participation and Partnership” are tough to implement.

7. What has been your biggest surprise on this journey so far?

Every day I suppose brings a new surprise to me be it in the form of opportunities or the results of the seeds I have sowed. 
The biggest surprise to me today is that my reality is far more better than my dreams. Six years back I’ve had a vision to Make Peace Possible and today I’m witnessing every bit of it.

8. What keeps you going and give you inspiration in your work? What gives you hope?

I may fall, I may not get what I have been working for, I may face dejection, or no matter whatever comes my way I have never learned to give up. Nothing can ever stop my passion. 
There’s this Japanese proverb which always keeps me enthralled with life 
“Fall seven time, stand up eight” – I totally could relate to this. 
My faith in Almighty Allah has been my ultimate source of hope for I know the righteous will be rewarded eventually.

9. If you could travel back in time, what advice would you give to your younger self?

Oh well this would be interesting, I would tell my younger self to stay bold, resilient, and undaunted than you were ever before. To walk the path of just and nothing else, to speak her heart without thinking of the consequences, to stand for what is right even if you stand alone. To live not for your own self but for your loved ones. I would advise her not to be perfect but rather be her own kind for perfection lies in those imperfections and last but not least, I would tell her to be happy for we are all stories in the end why not be ‘A GOOD ONE’

10. What words of encouragement would you give to women, children, minorities, and other disempowered groups when they are facing rejection because of the prevailing cultural norm?

If there's anything in life that makes you stronger than you were ever before it must be failures and rejections. What matters is not that you've faced rejection once, twice or maybe more than that. In fact, what matters is that you are still there to strive back and not giving up for your own dignity.Be a Warrior and not a victim. You may not be more in number, but let your words and your actions be bigger, more powerful and indestructible.

11. How can people interested to connect you reach you?

Well as I'm very much active on social media so people connect to me easily

People can reach me on in
linkedIn: Shazaf Masood
https://pk.linkedin.com/in/shazaf-masood-95aa9644
facebook: Shazaf Masood 
email: shazafmasood@gmail.com
blog: shazafmasood.over-blog.com

 

 

 

 

link to the interview: 

https://www.facebook.com/peacemaker360/posts/712737159109380?__xts__%5B0%5D=68.ARDoCyxcCEbTSk8JuZUxFtvZWaK1f7c_CsC63CkQG7YEgDSHYLXxSJkyhBG9nRKSXjEBIPiuRUgHU46Ou8QgBMuELBhhAyxOxrb2xILyd4o9c_6mRL7Hev8Y-6fjFkhul4Cco_B5vQfgRq129TWBdL3i7RZ6jzY226RtNP5KO4QhbaYa1VVlPiDBV5jILV8HkCG2xoXRLd0vD1dXrKuG_3yBcA&__tn__=K-R

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post